29 June – 16 July 2017

Festival Square – the build begins!

As you may have noticed, we’ve started our build on Manchester’s Albert Square, soon to become Festival Square. We’ve began construction on the Festival Pavilion and the Glass House – and this weekend, we’ll be holding the last of our public making workshops with OH OK Ltd, creating a whole new range of furniture for the Square.

Festival Square will be open from noon till late every day from Friday 30 June to Sunday 16 July, and admission is always free. As well as great food and plenty to drink, there’ll be live music every day from noon to 7.30pm (noon-3pm on Sun 16 July) on our outdoor stage and DJs from 10pm until late every night in the Festival Pavilion – including many special guests and some spectacular surprises. There’s a summary schedule below, with a full schedule of live music and DJ sets elsewhere on our website.

Fri 30 June Live music from Wise & Myth of Her, DJ set from Hattie Pearson

Sat 1 July Live music from Los Firuletes, Myth of Her & Wise, DJ set from Tim Burgess (The Charlatans)

Sun 2 July Festival in My House takeover, DJ set from John Loveless

Mon 3 July Live music from Anlin Xu & Rachael Gladwin, DJ TBC

Tue 4 July Live music from John Haycock & Invisible Giant, plus surprise special guest DJ

Wed 5 July Live music from Jali Njonkoling Kuyateh & Family Ranks, DJ set from Psychedelic DiscoTech with Bernie Connor

Thur 6 July Live music from Los Firuletes & Chloe Foy, DJ set from ACR Soundsystem

Fri 7 July Live music from John Haycock & Family Ranks, DJ set from Justine Alderman

Sat 8 July Live music from Tong Peng, Jali Njonkoling Kuyateh & Mica Miller, DJ set from Dave Haslam

Sun 9 July Live music from the Voices Beyond Gospel Collective, Wise & The Sunday Boys, plus surprise special guest DJ

 

Mon 10 July Live music from Vijay Venkat & Invisible Giant, DJ set from participants in Substance

Tue 11 July Live music from John Haycock & Bethlehem Casuals, DJ set from Youth (Killing Joke)

Tue 11 July Live music from Rachael Gladwin & Bethlehem Casuals, DJ TBC

Thur 13 July Live music from Echo Chamber & the Voices Beyond Gospel Collective, DJ TBC

Fri 14 July Live music from Jali Njonkoling Kuyateh & Afrodeutsche, DJ set from Greg Thorpe

Sat 15 July Live music from Sacred Sounds Women’s Choir, Los Firuletes & LayFullStop, DJ set from Andrea Trout

Sat 16 July Live music from Tong Peng & Mica Miller

 

Acts and times subject to change.