Talking Points

Talking Points invites you to join us and discuss how some of the Festival’s main themes and ideas relate to our lives today. Presented in collaboration with residents of North Manchester, who’ll be co-hosting these friendly and informal discussions, Talking Points encourages us to come together and explore some of the Festival’s key concepts with fellow citizens from all corners of the city – and beyond.

Talking Points takes place in a different city-centre location every day during the Festival except Saturdays, and admission is free. Each Talking Points discussion is on a theme inspired by an MIF show, but you don’t need to have seen the shows to take part. Just turn up on the day (no need to book), say hello – and join the conversation. Capacity is limited so arrive early to guarantee a place.

Fri 5 July, 10am
Peace – inspired by BELLS FOR PEACE
Friends Meeting House (F13), 6 Mount Street, M2 5NS

Sun 7 July, noon
Change – inspired by Tree
Upper Campfield Market Hall, Barton Street, M3 4NN

Mon 8 July, 10am
Protest – inspired by The Anvil
People’s History Museum (Protest Lab), Left Bank, Spinningfields, M3 3ER

Tue 9 July, 7pm
Self – inspired by David Lynch at HOME
HOME (Event Space), 2 Tony Wilson Place, First Street, M15 4FN

Wed 10 July, noon
Power – inspired by Parliament of Ghosts
The Whitworth (Parliament Space), The University of Manchester, Oxford Road, M15 6ER

Thur 11 July, 3.30pm
Coexistence – inspired by Utopolis Manchester
Arndale Food Market – South Side (outside Holy Crab), M4 1AZ

Fri 12 July, noon
Exploration – inspired by To The Moon
Front Room, Royal Exchange Theatre, Old Bank St, Manchester M2 7PE

Sun 14 July, noon
Identity – inspired by Maggie the Cat
The Dancehouse (Studio 3), 10 Oxford Road, M1 5QA

Mon 15 July, 4pm
Traditions – inspired by Tuesday
Band on the Wall (Bar), 25 Swan Street, M4 5JZ

Tue 16 July, 2pm
Cohesion – inspired by School of Integration
Manchester Art Gallery (Lowry & Valette Room), Mosley Street, M2 3JL

Wed 17 July, 6pm
Wisdom – inspired by Tao of Glass
Central Library (Performance Space), St Peter’s Square, M2 5PD

Thur 18 July, 2pm
Expression – inspired by Thank You Very Much
International Anthony Burgess Foundation (Main Space), 3 Cambridge Street, M1 5BY

Fri 19 July, 6pm
Revolution – inspired by A Drunk Pandemic
Albert Square Chop House (Boardroom), Albert Square, M2 5PF

Sun 21 July, noon
Memory/Legacy – inspired by Atmospheric Memory
Festival Square (Glass House), Albert Square, M2 5DB

 

Sign up