World Premiere

The Nico Project

Co-created by Maxine Peake and Sarah Frankcom


Wed 10 July -
Sun 21 July

Starting time

Click 'Book Now' for full schedule webBreak webBreak BSL Tue 16 July, 7.30pm webBreak AD Wed 17 July, 6pm

Running time

60 minutes


The Stoller Hall webBreak Hunts Bank, M3 1DA

Unreserved Seating

Price range

£35 webBreak £30 Previews (Wed 10 & Thur 11 July) webBreak Concession prices no longer available webBreak £2 transaction fee per order (no per ticket fee) webBreak


Access information

The Nico Project will be presented at Melbourne International Arts Festival, Australia from 11-20 October 2019.

Survivor. Muse. Creator. Destroyer.

From her 1967 debut with The Velvet Underground to her premature death just two decades later, Nico was one of pop culture’s most enigmatic figures. Now, Maxine Peake (performer) and Sarah Frankcom (director) are conjuring this visionary artist up from the shadows with a stirring theatrical immersion into her sound, her identity and the world in which she fought to be heard.

The Nico Project is inspired by her stark, bleak and beautiful 1968 album The Marble Index. Ignored on its original release, the album is now rightly regarded as one of the defining masterpieces of 1960s counterculture. With text by award-winning playwright EV Crowe and music by acclaimed composer Anna Clyne, The Nico Project brought us closer to the ghosts that haunted Nico and the devastating past that shaped her, and celebrates the potency of female creativity in a field dominated by men.

Anna Clyne – Music
EV Crowe – Text
Imogen Knight – Movement
Lizzie Clachan – Design
Paule Constable – Lighting Design
Helen Atkinson – Sound Design
With musicians from the Royal Northern College of Music

Commissioned by Manchester International Festival, Melbourne International Arts Festival and the Royal Court. Produced by Manchester International Festival.

The Marble Index
Words & music by Christa Paeffgen © 1968 Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp (BMI), all rights reserved. Used with kind permission from Warner/Chappell Music Ltd.

Photo: Jon Shard


Starting time: